How Will You Be Remembered?


Have you ever thought about how you want to be remembered? At your funeral, as people reflect on the type of person you have been, your accomplishments and the experiences they have had with you, what will be the dominant thoughts on their minds? As they listen to your eulogy, what would you like for them to hear?

Last week my family and I watched a new television show called Undercover Boss. This particular episode featured Rick Arquilla, President and COO of Roto-Rooter.

Rick went undercover and posed as a rank and file employee to determine what it’s really like to work in the trenches of his own company. Needless to say it was a humbling and eye-opening experience.

At the conclusion of the show his eyes swelled with tears as he spoke about his employees. He said, “I don’t want to be remembered as just the guy who helped Roto-Rooter earn profits.” He went on to say he wanted to be remembered as the guy who made a difference in the lives of his employees.

Rick Arquilla’s comments reminded me of the soul-searching process I went through during 2009. Like Rick, I don’t want to be remembered for something that has no long term significance.

I found myself feeling a sense of responsibility to take the lessons I have learned over the last 7 years and “infuse” that knowledge into the minds of others.

This blog is the first step in creating my legacy. Each post shares my life lessons with the hope it will help others reach higher and achieve more than they would have without the benefit of my experiences.

Whether you are in your teens or late 70’s, it’s not too early to begin thinking about the life you want to live and the imprint you want to leave on the world.

It is easy to be selfish and only think about your personal desires but I want to challenge you to start thinking about what you can do to make our world a better place for future generations.

Leave a Reply

