A New Year, A New You: A 6-Month Review of Your New Year’s Resolution


New Year’s Resolutions might be good for some things, like re-decorating your living room or a new hairstyle, but not necessarily the answer when you want to change your life for the healthier. The whole concept of a New Year’s Resolution puts too much emphasis on one day.

Bob Harper, trainer on The Biggest Loser, says he’s found that people are much more empowered to do what they can do right now, right here–as opposed to waiting until Monday, their birthday or January 1st.

With “resolutions” people tend to think the sky’s the limit until that all-important day, when, miscellaneously, they’ll have the habits in place that will last them the rest of their lives.

Life changes are NOT quick fixes anymore than network marketing is get-rich-quick. Both are long-term effects, which start with small steps.

My own New Year’s resolutions are an example of this. I wanted to have a better balance in my life–spiritual, physical, and family– and I wanted to be perfect in my goals right away. But I couldn’t be an instant scriptorian, nor could I run a marathon or have a better relationship with my children and spouse over night. Or even in the first week. 🙂

Day by day, week by week, month by month, I have been taking one small step after small step towards my goals. I’m not where I want to be yet with my goals, which is driving the perfectionist in me CRAZY, but I am seeing progress.

When you have a few quiet minutes to yourself, open your journal or flip back your calendar to January 1st, and review what your resolutions were for 2010.

How are you progressing?


Have you taken the small steps towards the new you that you know you can become? Or are you like the average person who gave up on the resolution by mid-March?

2010 is half over. But the good news is that there are still 6 more months before 2010 is finished. Its never too late to start. Don’t wait until your birthday, don’t wait until next Monday… you can begin today. Right here, right now.

As Richard Rahl, my favorite character in my favorite book series Sword of Truth, said, “It your life to live, so RISE UP and LIVE IT. “

Take Action


In the comment section below, write what you want to work on to become a better you before 2010 is done. Adding more vegetables in your diet? Train for a 5-K? Play more with your children? And as always, feel free to make suggestions or comments on what you want you have read and what you will like to see more of in this blog. Have a GREAT new day!

Leave a Reply

