Paige’s Zucchini Brownies


As a child every summer I can remember, my mother would plant a very large vegetable garden. Her garden’s always consisted of tomatoes, cucumbers, beans, pumpkins, squash, and my favorite… zucchini. This wonderful fruit (yes… technically, this “vegetable” is an immature fruit because it is produced from the swollen ovary of the zucchini flower) is incredibly nutritious:

low calories–approximately 15 food calories per 100 g fresh zucchini– and contains useful amounts of folate (24 mcg/100 g), potassium (280 mg/100 g) and vitamin A (384 IU [115 mcg]/100 g. 1/2 cup of zucchini also contains 19% of the recommended amount of manganese.

Sadly, though, my husband does not appreciate my love affair with this great fruit. In fact, he himself greatly dislikes zucchini and any other relation of the squash-family. Over the last 7 years I have been searching, experimenting, and hiding zucchini in dishes in hopes to find THE RECIPE that includes my beloved fruit without an argument at the dinner table.

Recently my good neighbor and wonderful friend brought my family dinner when I bruised a major tendon in my left ankle, and while my kitchen was undergoing a major renovation. Cooking while on crutches was frustrating, at best, and she knew we desperately needed a home-cooked meal. The delightful, flavor-filled dinner was crowned with this most excellent brownie (really, it looks like a cake) with two well-hidden ingredients: zucchini and whole-wheat flour.

I hope you enjoy this as much as my family did… and get great joy out of deceiving your family into eating healthily!

Paige’s Zucchini Brownies

2 c Whole-Wheat Flour

1 1/2 c Sugar

1 tsp Salt

1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 c Cocoa

1/2 c Oil

2 c Grated Zucchini

2 tsp Vanilla

1/2 c Nuts (optional)

Sift dry ingredients, blend in oil, zucchini and vanilla. Bake at 350 F for 20 minutes. Cool on wire rack. Frost with favorite frosting, if desired (which my family loved!).

Leave a Reply

