Have Your Eggs Been Recalled?


Eggs have been a staple in the human diet for thousands of years, from the hunter-gathers collecting wild bird eggs to the domestication of the chicken for a stable, more reliable supply of eggs. Since domestication of the chicken, eggs have become an essential ingredient to many of today’s cuisines due to their functional properties (water holding, emulsifying and foaming) as well as their nutrient value.

I’m in the middle of making carrot cake from scratch. The recipe calls for 4 Large Eggs. I go to the refrigerator, pull 4 Large Eggs from the carton after checking that the expiration date has not expired. I think, “Great! Now I can finish the cake” and don’t give my eggs a second thought.

That was until I was informed about Egg Recalls.

Egg Recalls? Really?! Yikes!!

The Egg Safety Center works to educate consumers on ways to further reduce the incidence of food-borne illness related to egg products; provide producers with the most up-to-date information available; and act as a food safety resource for retailers and food service companies in the U.S.

Although less than one percent of all United States eggs are affected, I explored the FDA Egg Recall List to see if the eggs I used to make my carrot cake are indeed containing an food-borne illnesses. Thankfully, the eggs I purchased were not on that list, but I felt that today’s post should be focused on helping you stay healthy too.

For periodic updates regarding all things egg related, feel free to check out http://www.eggsafety.org/mediacenter/press-releases.

Leave a Reply

