Oriental Wok: Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Versions


A review of my Oriental Wok recipe from the author of another fantastic site http://30daybetatest.blogspot.com/2010/04/oriental-wok.html

“I am the PICKIEST eater.  Ohmigoodness I am NOT adventurous.  I DO like vegetables…but not very many of them.  I like what I like, I know what it is, and that is what we eat in this household.  Which isn’t the WORST eating ever, but is far from the best.
So when Kristen sent me the general meal plans to look over for our little let’s-teach-people-how-to-eat experiment (have we THANKED you all today for participating?  THANK YOU!) and one of {the meal plans} was COMPLETELY vegetarian while the other {meal plan} turned its nose up on so many of my favorite things….I was NOT ON BOARD.  hahaha  Seriously, not at all.  I thought about pulling out thinking there’s no WAY I can eat this stuff!  But the more we talked and I researched…the more I knew I HAD to give this a try.

WOW.  Wow wow wow.  First off, I totally overestimated my gag reflex – tofu is NOT as bad or as weird as we think it is.   Or at least, as bad as I thought it was! hahaha  And it’s kind of…this huge ADVENTURE to be in my kitchen and not have the slightest clue what to do with a food (I had to get step-by-step instructions on draining my tofu from an ex-vegetarian before I could eat breakfast this morning – that was fun).

But after tonight’s dinner??  I can TOTALLY do this – it was DELICIOUS!!  Kristen, THANK you!  And I can’t believe how EASY it was to prepare! hahaha

So, without further ado (about nothing – I KNOW I KNOW I’m a rambler)…..

Dinner chez Kings!  TRY it, love it, eat it again. (That’s right, it was SO good I took a picture!  Note, also, the STEAM rising….mmmmmmmm….can’t you just TASTE it?)”

Oriental Wok

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Yield: 4 servings
Ingredients
1 tbsp. sweet mirin seasoning
1 tsp. Mrs. Dash or Oriental seasoning
2 garlic cloves, chopped
¼ cup cooking wine or vegetable broth
10- 20 oz. assorted fresh vegetables, or 2 10 oz. bags frozen Oriental vegetables (defrosted)
1 onion, or 3 shallots, chopped
1 can water chestnuts, liquid reserved
1 box tofu, diced
2 oz. chopped chicken (optional)

Directions

Place seasoning, garlic, and cooking wine (or broth) in a covered pot or wok on medium heat. When mixture begins to sizzle, add vegetables. If using frozen vegetables, no need to add water chestnut liquid. Fresh vegetables will cook longer and must have the water chestnut liquid.

Tip/ Variation: Pineapple juice, vegetable broth, flavored vinegar, Yoli TRUTH, light soy sauce or Bragg’s Liquid Aminos for change of flavor.

2 thoughts on “Oriental Wok: Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Versions

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Oriental Wok: Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Versions « Kristensherlock's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

