Motherhood: The Truth


Let me begin by apologizing to everyone for the lack of writing. Due to the birth of my third, and fantastically awesome, child, I have seriously less time to do the things I once found to be not-so-time-consuming… things like eating, showering and dressing in clothes that don’t begin with the word ‘sweat’.  Obviously, writing has taken a very, very, back- seat in my life.

As I emerge from sleepless nights and awaken to my new life with three children, carpools to school and assisting my never-at-home husband with his life goals, the thought came to me:

This is the hardest job I’ve ever done in my life!

And yet, this job is also the most rewarding. It comes with incredible highs and gut-wrenching lows. From birth to toddlers to school age children (and I’m sure, later, teenagers!) this devoted mother is learning that she is as much a student as she is a teacher. I no longer know everything… sadly, I am learning that I know nothing (my children keep me humble!).

Be patient with me, dear readers. I aim to write again, but it will not be at the same pace as before. There is much research that I put into all my posts, and I don’t want to skimp on accuracy just to get “something” out there for you to read. Many of my upcoming posts will be more personal (sorry!) but will combine, as usual, gentle humor and priceless perceptions of this Domestic Diva.

Please feel free to share your comments and thoughts. Regardless if you have been-there-done-that or are just-getting-your-feet-wet, we all would like to share in your words of wisdom. And let us remember William Ross Wallace’s quote: “The hand that rocks the cradle is the hand that rules the world.”

Leave a Reply

